The Chronic Gap in the ‘Stronger Together’ Movement.

Rachel Langer
12 min readAug 11, 2020

“Your tele-health visit is scheduled for Friday at 11:30am. Please be prepared to answer a call from <insert human voice> at the scheduled time…”

It’s not the first time I’ve heard this robo-voicemail message punctuated with a single human-spoken word since the world changed in March of this year, and I doubt it’ll be the last. This will be my 6th tele-health appointment in the past few months in an attempt to manage what I’ve affectionately dubbed the Tolkien Novel of continuing health sagas. If you haven’t been here before the Coles Notes are that my decades-long journey to manage my endometriosis symptoms culminated in a complete hysterectomy with a not-so-surprise third act twist that included leaving some of the disease inside, with continued digestive symptoms, pain, and a new set of complications likely related to being intubated 4 too many times. If you have been here before, bless you. I’d say your cheque is in the mail, but I like to keep my promises so… IOU a hearty physically distanced high five. (Yeah, our reward system is garbage, I’m still waiting to speak to the manager.)

I’ve been a bit mum on the health front lately. Perhaps the largest motivating factor in going from soapbox to silence is the Covid-19 pandemic, which I trust I don’t need to explain since it’s global… and scary… and inescapable. We all know how…

--

--

Rachel Langer

Screenwriter. Canadian. Wordsmith for Transplant (Crave/NBC) The Order (Netflix) andThis Life (CBC) . Loud about endometriosis and women’s health.